In this blog we will discuss the first aspect which basically involves the five Arkan e Islam. Sahih Muslim In the light of this blessed Hadith we come to know that there are five basic obligations in Islam. These five basic obligations are called Arkan e Islam or five pillars of Islam. Secondly, the establishment of the prayer by the individual and the community with all of its rules and prerequisites. Thirdly, the payment of Zakat, an annual financial obligation paid by Muslims on specific wealth or capital they possess, exceeding a specific limit, to categories explained in the Quran. Fourthly, fasting during the month of Ramadan and fifthly, the pilgrimage to Mecca Hajj once in a lifetime for those who have means to do so.

Author:Grolabar Samulkis
Language:English (Spanish)
Published (Last):8 February 2009
PDF File Size:16.51 Mb
ePub File Size:10.5 Mb
Price:Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]

They are viewed as compulsory for individuals who genuinely wish to pursue a life like that which Muhammad led, which was a prudent and mindful life. Like other religions, Islam holds certain practices to be standard; however, that does not imply that all individuals who regard themselves as Muslims necessarily follow them.

The religious practice of Islam, which truly signifies "to submit to God", depends on fundamentals that are known as the Five Pillars. Further insights concerning these commitments are given in the Hadith. In the Quran, in spite of the fact that the Shahada does not show up in full, Sura 8. Prayer is alluded to multiple times, with prayer times referenced in Sura In a few chapters, Muslims are urged both to pray and give alms for example Sura 5.

There is a critical entry on fasting in the Quran Sura 2. Regarding the matter of the Hajj, the longest Quranic section Sura 2. Pillars of Sunni Islam The Five Pillars of Islam An artwork depicting the 5 pillars First pillar: Shahada profession of faith The first pillar of Islam is the Shahada , the assertion of faith, combining the themes of unity and mercy that are found in the Quran.

There are two shahadas: "There is no god but God" and "Muhammad is the messenger of God". The Tawhid, which is the prayer that states "no god but God" is a major component of the Islamic faith, for it asserts the monotheistic aspect of Islam, promoting unity of God as the source of existence.

This prayer proclaims Muhammad as the last prophet, and it uses Muhammad as the prime example of guidance for all Muslims. These prayers are done 5 times a day, at set strict times, with the individual facing Mecca. The Fajr prayer is performed before sunrise, Dhuhr is performed in the midday after the sun has surpassed its highest point, Asr is the evening prayer before sunset, Maghrib is the evening prayer after sunset and Isha is the night prayer.

All of these prayers are recited while facing in the direction of the Kaaba in Mecca and form an important aspect of the Muslim Ummah.

Muslims must wash before prayer; this washing is called wudu "purification". The prayer is accompanied by a series of set positions including; bowing with hands on knees, standing, prostrating and sitting in a special position not on the heels, nor on the buttocks. At every change in position, " Allah is great " is said and it is a fixed tradition that has to be recited in each posture.

A Muslim may perform their prayer anywhere, such as in offices, universities, and fields. However, the mosque is the preferable place for prayers because the mosque allows for fellowship. Sermons Khutbah in Arabic which entails preaching in any local language and jointly of the recitation of certain formulas in Arabic. This practice is not found in the Quran but rather in the hadith.

The principle of knowing that all things belong to God is essential to purification and growth. It is the personal responsibility of each Muslim to ease the economic hardship of others and to strive towards eliminating inequality.

A Muslim may also donate more as an act of voluntary charity sadaqah , rather than to achieve additional divine reward. After the offering, the payer must not exaggerate on spending his money more than usual means. Payment must be in kind. This means if one is wealthy then he or she needs to pay a portion of their income.

If a person does not have much money, then they should compensate for it in different ways, such as good deeds and good behavior toward others. Fasting takes place during Ramadan, which is the holy month in the Islamic calendar lunar calendar.

This means the month of Ramadan shifts 11 days each year. The fast occurs from dawn to sunset each day during which time believers are expected to prohibit themselves from any food, drink, sexual intercourse, or smoking.

However after sunset and before dawn, individuals can participate in any of the actions previously stated as they desire. Ramadan is a period of reflection when Muslims are called upon to recharge their faith, increment their charity, and make apology. In the Quran, the month of Ramadan was first revealed to Muhammad. Three types of fasting Siyam are recognized by the Quran: Ritual fasting, [22] fasting as compensation for repentance both from sura Al-Baqara , [23] and ascetic fasting from Al-Ahzab.

In addition, all obscene and irreligious sights and sounds are to be avoided. These include pre-pubescent children, those with a medical condition such as diabetes , elderly people , and pregnant or breastfeeding women. Observing fasts is not permitted for menstruating women. Other individuals for whom it is considered acceptable not to fast are those who are ill or traveling. Missing fasts usually must be made up for soon afterward, although the exact requirements vary according to circumstance.

This ritual consists of making journey to Mecca wearing only 2 white sheets so all of the pilgrims are identical and there is no class distinction among them.

Ladies wear a less complex type of their ordinary dress. On the return trip, pilgrims stop in Mina, where they throw 7 stones at stone pillars that represent Satan as to express their hatred for Shaitan Satan. Ability, physical strength, and economic needs can play a role in whether or not an individual is able to complete this pilgrimage, for the Quran specifically says that only those capable of making the pilgrimage are required.

The reason for this journey is to follow in the footsteps of the Prophet Muhammad, hoping to gain enlightenment as Muhammad did when he was in the presence of Allah. The pilgrimage of the Hajj is in the Quran.

Islamic teachers say that the Hajj should be an expression of devotion to God, not a means to gain social standing. The believer should be self-aware and examine their intentions in performing the pilgrimage. This should lead to constant striving for self-improvement.

Also, they make a pilgrimage to the holy city of Jerusalem in their alms-giving feast. The Twelver Shia Islam Usul al-Din, equivalent to a Shia Five Pillars, are all beliefs considered foundational to Islam, and thus classified a bit differently from those listed above. Sawm Zakat , similar to Sunni Islam, it applies to money, cattle, silver, gold, dates, raisins, wheat, and barley.

Khums is paid to the Imams ; indirectly to poor and needy people.


Arkan e Islam In Urdu



Arkan e Islam



Five Pillars of Islam



Arkan E Islam In Hindi Urdu


Related Articles